History

Do you know that the oysters of Mare Santonum (Marennes-Oléron basin) were already praised in Roman times ? The ancient city of Rome imported them salted or pickled in barrels. Already known as exceptional products and enjoyed as such in the course of sumptuous meals, they regained their letters of nobility in the 19th century. In 1967, the history of oysters came to meet Guy POGET ‘s own story.That was the time when he bought his first oyster-park in the midst of mists and currents of the biggest and most fertile mudflats of Europe. More precisely in Mornac Sur Seudre, charming oyster-breeding village which has been acknowledged as one of the most beautiful villages in France.

Looking for excellence, Guy POGET started growing the « Fine du Galon d’Or », an oyster with a firm generous flesh and a iodized taste which immediately met with wide success.

Huîtres Poget
Huîtres Poget
Huîtres Poget

In 1981 his inquiring mind and his desire to explore vaster territories urged Guy POGET to make his first oyster-farming experiments on the sandy strands of Utah Beach in Normandy in the bay of Veys. At the confluence of four rivers, the Taute, the Douve , the Aure and the Vire, the foreshore waters carry a food rich in plankton, mineral and oligo-elements which give the oysters an exceptional taste.

Some people will claim that the oyster-bed makes the oyster in the same way as the barrel makes
the wine. That’s how the Special oyster of Mr POGET was born between two territories which give it its firm generous crunchy and slightly sweet flesh . Its name is « The exquisite » .

Passion and « savoir-faire » are so pregnant in the family that Thierry POGET, Guy’s son who grew up along with the ebb and flow of tides in Charente and Normandy, chose to attend a special school dedicated to the sea to join the family enterprise in 1984. At that time, the production was mainly bought by Paris markets.
In 2005 new oyster-beds were acquired to allow a European development which was made possible thanks to partnerships based on mutual trust and respect.
Following the encounter of Thierry POGET and Grégory DEWITTE, the POGET oyster-shop opened up in 2020 on Ile Saint-Louis in Paris. POGET Oysters are now sold in a privileged setting…
histoire-poget

L’Histoire

Savez-vous que l’on célébrait les huîtres de la Mare Santonum, la Mer des Santons (entendez « Marennes – Oléron) à l’époque romaine ? La Rome antique les importait vinaigrées ou salées en baril. Déjà reconnues mets d’exception et dégustées lors de repas fastueux, elles ont, au fil du temps, conservé leurs lettres de noblesse.En 1967, l’histoire des huîtres vint à la rencontre de celle de Guy POGET. C’est au milieu des brumes et courants de ces plus vastes et fécondes vasières d’Europe qu’il achète son premier parc à Mornac Sur Seudre, charmante bourgade ostréicole figurant parmi les plus beaux villages de France.

A la recherche de l’excellence, Guy POGET cultive « la Fine du Galon d’Or ». Huître à la chaire ferme et généreuse, iodée. Elle connaît immédiatement un large succès d’estime.

Huîtres Poget
Huîtres Poget
Huîtres Poget
C’est en 1981 que, curieux et se sentant un peu à l’étroit en ses eaux charentaises, Guy POGET effectue ses premiers essais d’élevage sur les plages de sable d’Utah Beach dans la baie des Veys en Normandie. Située au confluent des quatre rivières que sont la Taute, la Douve, l’Aure et la Vire, l’estran apporte une nourriture dont la richesse constituée de planctons, de sels minéraux et d’oligo-éléments confèrent à ses huîtres un goût exceptionnel.

D’aucuns ont l’habitude de dire que « la claire est à l’huître ce que la barrique est au vin ». C’est donc ainsi que, enrichie de ces deux terroirs, l’huître Spéciale de la Maison POGET, à la chair généreuse, ferme, croquante et légèrement sucrée, avec un supplément d’âme est née. C’est « L’Exquise ».

Le savoir-faire et la passion se transmettent si bien que Thierry POGET, fils de Guy, bercé au gré des flux et reflux des marées charentaises et normandes, intègre un lycée aquacole et vient le rejoindre dans cette aventure familiale en 1984. A cette époque, le marché parisien absorbe la production.
L’aménagement de nouveaux parcs en 2005 permet un développement européen grâce à des partenariats fondés sur une confiance et un respect mutuels.

C’est en 2020, que, fruit de la rencontre entre deux passionnés que sont Thierry POGET et Grégory Dewitte, l’Huîtrerie POGET Dewitte ouvre ses portes sur l’île Saint Louis à Paris. Les Huîtres POGET ont désormais leur écrin.

histoire-poget